At Cigna, we are closely monitoring the geopolitical landscape to best support the health and well-being of our customers. The situation is rapidly changing so we recommend that you bookmark this page and check back regularly for updates that might impact either the coverage we can provide or your claims payments.

As a result of sanctions, Cigna is legally prohibited from accepting or sending payments to a customer or provider through an account with any banks on the list below. If you currently use one of the banks listed below for claims payments, we will be unable to process your claim and ask that you provide us with alternative bank details from a bank that has not been sanctioned. Failure to update your banking details will result in us being unable to pay your claims.

During the period the sanctions apply, we are legally prohibited from doing business with any affected banking institution, including the following:

  • Alfa Bank JSC
  • Amsterdam Trade Bank NV
  • Bank Belveb OJSC
  • Bank Dabrabyt Joint-Stock Company
  • Bank National Factoring Company Joint Stock Company
  • Bank Rossiya
  • Bank Saint Petersburg
  • Bank Uralsib PJSC
  • Bank Zenit PJSC
  • Belagroprombank
  • Belarus Bank of Development and Reconstruction Belinvestbank Joint Stock Company
  • Belarusky Narodny Bank
  • BelGazprom Bank
  • Black Sea Bank
  • BM-Bank Joint-Stock Company
  • Central Bank of Russia
  • Cetelem Bank Limited Liability Company
  • Credit Bank of Moscow
  • Development Bank of the Republic of Belarus
  • Eximbank of Russia JSC
  • Gazprombank
  • IS Bank
  • Joint Stock Company Genbank
  • Joint Stock Company Investtradebank
  • Joint Stock Company Sarovbusinessbank
  • Joint Stock Commercial Bank Lanta Bank
  • Joint Stock Commercial Bank Metallurgical Investment Bank
  • Joint Stock Commercial Bank Primorye
  • Joint-Stock Commercial Bank Novikombank
  • Limited Liability Company Ozon Bank
  • Moscow Industrial Bank
  • MT Bank CJSC
  • MTS Bank PJSC
  • Novosibirsk Social Commercial Bank Levoberezhny PJSC
  • PAO Rosgosstrakh Bank
  • Paritetbank OJSC
  • Prominvestbank
  • Promsvyazbank
  • Public Joint Stock Company Bank Financial Corporation Otkritie
  • Public Joint Stock Company KB Vostochny
  • Rosbank
  • Rosgosstrakh Bank
  • Rossiyski Selskokhozyaistenny Bank OAO
  • Russian Agriculture Bank
  • Sberbank
  • SDM-Bank Public Joint Stock Company
  • Sovocombank
  • SMP Bank
  • Tinkoff Bank
  • Transkiapitalbank
  • Ural Bank for Reconstructions and Development
  • Vietnam-Russia Joint Venture Bank
  • Vnesheconombank (VEB)
  • VTB Bank and various branches (Public Joint-Stock Company)
  • West Siberian Commercial Bank Public Joint Stock Company

Last updated: March 17, 2023, 9:00am U.S. ET


For our customers in the so-called Donetsk People’s Republic and Luhansk People’s Republic regions:

Russia has purportedly recognized two portions of the Donetsk and Luhansk provinces of Ukraine as independent states. These regions have been referred to by Russia as the Donetsk People’s Republic (DNR) and Luhansk People’s Republic (LNR). Effective February 21, 2022, due to the currently imposed sanctions, Cigna is legally prohibited from providing insurance coverage, benefits, or services of any kind to anyone located in the so-called DNR or LNR. If your primary mailing address is in the DNR or LNR region or you were previously located there and have moved to a different location, please contact us with the details of your new address by calling +1.302.797.3100 or 1.800.441.2668

Additionally, Cigna is not legally permitted to process or pay any claims for services incurred in the DNR or LNR regions on or after February 21, 2022. Cigna is permitted to pay claims for services incurred before February 21, 2022 but only until March 23, 2022. Any claims received for services incurred after February 21, 2022 will be denied.